October 5, 2007

  • ..jimmy..

    I remember when Lyndsay was in fifth grade and they left notes for each other a couple times a week. I remember when his family started visiting JW again. I remember having a crush on him in the early days. I remember when he joined youth choir. I remember how much Caleb adored him. I remember that he hated my boyfriends. I remember flirting a lot. I remember riding in the van. I remember Dad forcing him out of the house every night. I remember taking long walks with him. I remember when he told me he was leaving for the Air Force. I remember getting really upset with him sometimes. I remember Children of Eden. I remember all the Christmas concerts. I remember driving down the mountain in the van with the windows rolled down and all of our siblings fighting. I remember listening to The Beatles for months on end. I remember attending every Trouveres performance that one year because he begged me to. I remember learning the wive's part for Joseph...so he'd have someone to practice with. I remember being really jealous. I remember when he grabbed my hand at Sweets & Songs and led me around introducing me to his teachers. I remember always claiming seats together on church trips. I remember that first kiss at Philpot Park. I remember always wanting to be his girlfriend. I remember getting poison ivy on our hikes. I remember how beautiful he made me feel. I remember sitting down in front of him on the bleachers, telling him Jamey broke up with me and watching him grin. I remember the Hill with the Meg(h)ans and the strippage. I remember crying for about three days straight when we found out boot camp was a week earlier than planned. I remember going to Dance Here! and watching him dance with himself in the mirror. I remember the last night he was here; he made me drive his van and we smoked cigars and danced on the dark street in undeveloped suburbia. I remember making it through his last day OK until he pointed out that I hadn't cried yet. I remember sitting with Amy, Caleb, Lyndsay, Chris, and Brian at my parent's house the night he left. I remember the Eddie Bauer cologne and guitars he left to me for a while. I remember writing to him every single day he was in boot camp; six whole weeks of letters. I remember coming home from A Christmas Carol tech night, two weeks after he'd left, to a voicemail from him, which was unexpected but he'd earned a phone call by saving a guy's life with the Heimlich. I remember letters...oh the sweet, heartfelt letters about seeing my name in the clouds and the dreams he had. I remember his first trip home. I remember when he asked me to marry him over and over. I remember saying no...over and over. I remember thinking I wasn't in love. I remember the 18 months that we couldn't stop talking, through California, and Cheyenne. I remember the feeling of home whenever he was there. I remember worrying so much about how I looked. I remember caring only about his opinion. I remember that last phone call when he begged me to commit to him. I remember not understanding why he wouldn't call or write back. I remember a month later hearing he was engaged. I remember the last time we spoke, when he was home for their shower and I gave him the kitchen towel set we'd picked out and joked about ever since Target opened that he had gone and registered for with her. I remember signing the lease on my apartment that day. I remember not knowing what I'd do without Meghan. I remember crying all night that night. I remember praying that he'd call and explain. I remember wishing I'd made a different choice. I remember telling the story to my next boyfriend who ended up treating me as badly as I'd treated my "dying soldier/crying shoulder". I remember Jeff looking at his picture and saying, "Yeah, you would've never lasted" and it hit home how true a statement that was.

    I don't remember much more...except that I'm glad I can't forget.

Comments (4)

  • That was very touching. I like you. :)

  • <TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0 UNSELECTABLE="on">
    <TBODY>
    <TR height="100%" UNSELECTABLE="on" width="100%">
    <TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNSELECTABLE="off">

    Very very beautiful Jo.  Among all the many other talents that God gave you, he gave you the ability to write.  I'm glad you use it for things that aren't negative!

    I LOVE YOU!

    <TR UNSELECTABLE="on" hb_tag="1">
    <TD style="FONT-SIZE: 1pt" height=1 UNSELECTABLE="on">

  • Just stopped by to say hi.
    Can hardly wait for my phone call!

  • very beautiful....

    memories...

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *